Monstress #1 REVIEW

24426209Monstress #1 by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda

Published November 4th 2015

Genre: Fantasy comic book

Pages: 72

Source: Netgalley – in exchange for an honest review

Steampunk meets Kaiju in this original fantasy epic for mature readers, as young Maika risks everything to control her psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, placing her in the center of a devastating war between human and otherworldly forces.

I don’t really read comic books but my sister read Monstress and loved it so I decided to give it a try.

This comic book is about Maika, an arcanic young woman that lives in a world divided in cumaean (the humans) and arcanic (beings that have different appearances).

The first thing I notice in this issue is the cover. The combination of the colors and the design is stunning. Every detail is beautiful, forming a gorgeous cover.

As I kept reading, I got hypnotized by the art. It’s not just the cover that is stunning, every page, every little section is outstanding.

The characters are all mainly women, I love it that their personalities are completely different, making it a very diverse comic book, even though almost all the characters are from the same sex.

Maika, the main character, is a very strong and determinate woman, it is wonderful to see such an amazing badass woman protagonist in this really complex plot.

Talking about the plot, I started reading Monstress without knowing much about it. Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised. The art and the characters might have been beautiful but I kept reading because of the story. It is really immersive and there’s so much we don’t know, the suspense is really present and it’s making me want to read the next issues as soon as I can.

Rating: 4,5 stars

 

Want a review from a different blogger? Click here

4 thoughts on “Monstress #1 REVIEW

Leave a Reply

