The Killing Game (Eve Duncan #2) REVIEW

78131The Killing Game by Iris Johansen

Published May 2nd 2000

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Pages: 355

Source: Bought it in Portuguese

A MERCILESS KILLER ON THE HUNT … AN INNOCENT CHILD IN HIS SIGHTS … A WOMAN DRIVEN TO THE EDGE TO STOP HIM

The killer knows Eve Duncan all too well. He knows the pain she feels for her murdered daughter, Bonnie, whose body has never been found. He knows that as one of the nation’s top forensic sculptors she’ll insist on identifying the nine skeletons unearthed on a bluff near Georgia’s Talladega Falls. He knows she won’t be able to resist the temptation of believing that one of those skeletons might be her daughter’s. But that is only the beginning of the killer’s sadistic game. He wants Eve one on one, and he’ll use his ace in the hole to make sure she complies. And he won’t stop playing until he claims the prize he wants most: Eve’s life.

The Killing Game is the sequel of Face of Deception, that I already reviewed here.

This book is about Eve Duncan, a woman whose life was marked by tragedy and now works with the skulls of those lost. When the police finds the body of a little girl, Eve does everything she can to have the chance of reconstructing her face but when the remains are stolen, Eve sees herself playing a very dangerous game with a very dangerous killer.

Eve Duncan’s daughter, Bonnie, was murdered ten years ago. All those years her life was dominated by the need to find her body and bring her home. I absolutely love Eve. She is determined and does everything in her power to help bring dead children to their home. I admire her strength and persistence, she doesn’t forget her goal and does anything to reach it.

Joe Quinn is Eve’s bestfriend. He’s an ex-SEAL that now works for the police and he’ll do anything to make Eve happy. I think he’s a great character, always desperate to do what he thinks is best for Eve. He’s a big part of her life and I can’t imagine this book without Joe.

Logan wasn’t so present as in the first book of the series and I would love to see more of him in the next book. His animosity towards Joe amuses me and I think he’s definitely an interesting character.

The main characters that were introduced were Jane and Sarah Patrick. I loved to see Jane’s development throughout the book. She’s extraordinary and I’m glad the author decided to add her to the plot. Sarah didn’t have such an impact in me as Jane did but she’s still a good character and I’m glad she was introduced.

Now, the plot. The plot was brilliantly crafted. I read this book in a day, I couldn’t stop. I was never bored, I wanted to know what would happen next. I just couldn’t stop thinking of the plot, the characters and what was happening. I was completely absorbed.

When I read the first book I wasn’t sure if I would continue the series or not. There are 21 books in the series. I have the third book and I’m really excited to read it. If it turns as good as this one maybe I’ll buy more.

Rating: 5 stars

The Face of Deception REVIEW

One thought on “The Killing Game (Eve Duncan #2) REVIEW

Leave a Reply

