Pirate Sun (Virga #3) REVIEW

11831989Pirate Sun by Karl Shroeder

Published November 9th 2010

Genre: Science Fiction

Pages: 320

Source: Bought it on Amazon

Chaison Fanning, the admiral of a fleet of warships introduced in the first book, has been captured and imprisoned by his enemies, but is now rescued and set free. He must flee to his home city to confront the ruler who betrayed him. Perhaps while there he will also regain his lovely, powerful, and subversive wife, Venera. He has not seen her since she fled, careening off into the air of Virga, with the key to the artificial sun, Candesce, at the center of Virga. In Pirate Sun, Schroeder sets a whole new standard for hard SF space opera.

Pirate Sun follows the story of Admiral Chaison Fanning after the first book, Sun of Suns. It starts with Chaison in prison, followed by his escape. He then begins his journey to return to Slipstream where he meets new characters such as Antaea Argyre.

I wasn’t a big fan of Chaison in the first book. He was a cool character but didn’t stand out. In this book, I loved him. It was so interesting to follow his journey, I loved it.

The new character, Antaea brings depth to this story. She was powerful and very interesting, I definitely liked her.

Now, the plot. I was really afraid of reading this book because I didn’t care mucha about Chaison in the first one. I loved Queen of Candesce and felt that this book couldn’t possibly top that… but it did. It made me see Chaison in a completely new perspective and the plot was outstanding. There was so much action, I was never bored. The only problem I had with it was that I started reading this book in a very busy week. I had tests and work to do so I could only read a few pages per day. Because of that, it was hard to get into the book but as soon as I had more time, I started focusing more on reading and couldn’t put down this book. It got me hooked until the end. I have the sequel so I’ll probably start reading it soon.

I also feel like this book was different from Queen of Candesce, not because of the characters but because of the issues and themes it revolved around. It was closer to the first book, Sun of Suns, because of all the piracy and battles between ships. It also revolved more around the Key of Candesce than the second book.

I’m really enjoying this series. I never thought it would get better with every book but it did.

I recommend this series to everyone that loves Sci-Fi or Fantasy.

I have really high expectations for the next book. I would have loved to see more of Venera in this third book jus because I adored her in Queen of Candesce but Antaea was also a strong female character so I’m happy.

Rating: 5 stars

Sun of Suns (Virga #1) REVIEW

Queen of Candesce (Virga #2) REVIEW

3 thoughts on “Pirate Sun (Virga #3) REVIEW

Leave a Reply

