The Search (Eve Duncan #3) REVIEW

1294633

The Search by Iris Johansen

Published May 1st 2001

Genre: Mystery

Pages: 336

Source: Bought it (in Portuguese)

He strikes without warning.
He kills without mercy.
He’s only just begun.
As part of an elite K-9 search and rescue team, Sarah Patrick and her golden retriever, Monty, have a gift for finding what no one else can. But their latest assignment is not like the others. This time Sarah is being forced to take part in a deadly mission … by a man who knows enough about her past to ensure her cooperation.
Billionaire John Logan’s top-secret venture has been sabotaged, its facilities destroyed, and its handpicked staff massacred. The sole survivor is being held for ransom. Logan knows that the only way to save the man — and the secrets he holds — is to find him as soon as possible.
Sarah is furious when she is strong-armed into joining Logan on his search. And once she takes the perilous assignment, not even Logan’s promises that she and Monty will be safe may be enough to protect them. Because a killer is devising a sadistic vengeance … and he may soon find use for Sarah.

The Search is the sequel of The Killing Game that I already reviewed on the blog.

This book is about Sarah Patrick, Eve’s friend. She’s hired by John Logan to find someone but then she’s pulled into a very dangerous plot and has to do everything she can to save innocent lives.

Sarah is a very different character compared to Eve. Eve was the main character in the other books and I love her. Sarah appeared in The Killing Game but she didn’t stand out for me. That’s why I was surprised to discover that she was the main character in this third book of the series.

In this book, Sarah didn’t stand out either. I liked her character and loved to know more about her but I think I preferred Eve. She was an interesting character and it was fun but I was expecting more from this book.

Logan was also a main character in this book. I love him. I adored him on the other books and I’m glad that he played such an important role in this one. The reader gets to know more about his heartbreaking past and it just made me like him even more.

Eve, Joe and Jane also appear in this book. I love them so much.

Now, the plot. The plot of this book is quite different from the other ones. Since the beginning of the book, we know who has been killing all these people and we have some clues of why he’s doing it. This third book doesn’t have as much mystery as the other ones and that disappointed me. It was interesting and well thought but I was expecting something different. It had a lot of action and the reader gets to see how Sarah Patrick and her dog, Monty, work.

I didn’t like The Search as much as the other ones but I think I’ll read the next book.

Rating: 3,5 stars

The Face of Deception (Eve Duncan #1) REVIEW

The Killing Game (Eve Duncan #2) REVIEW

 

Leave a Reply

