The Hitchcock Murders REVIEW

24733013The Hitchcock Murders by Gavin Collinson

Published January 27th 2015

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Pages: 496

Source: Birthday gift

A killer is targeting women in London every Tuesday. It seems that the murderer is obsessed with Alfred Hitchcock, and his crimes are gruesomely themed around the great director’s films. Josa Jilani, a young and brilliant Muslim DCI is put on the case by her seniors, some of whom feel she has been unfairly fast-tracked and want to see her out of her depth. With the help of a couple of maverick detectives, Josa sets out to prove her worth and stop the Hitchcock Murderer in his tracks before more lives are lost …

This book is about a series of murders following some of Alfred Hitchcock’s movies.

I have seen some episodes of “Alfred Hitchcock Presents” but never one of his movies. Still, I enjoyed watching his show and the premise of the book seemed interesting so I decided to pick it up.

The characters in this book were amazing. They had depth and rich back-stories that I loved.

Josa was the main character. I loved her. My only problem was that, in the beginning, the reader was able to see a lot of her personality in her interactions with Blake but somewhere in the middle of the story it seemed that she lost her spark. It might have been because of all the murders but, if that was the case, there should be some reference from the other characters. Still, I think she was a great character and I loved to follow her story.

Even though I loved Josa, Daniel Blake was my favorite character. I adore characters like him. He emanates a Sherlock Holmes/ Hercule Poirot vibe that I just can’t resist. He had a thrilling back story and I truly enjoyed reading about it.

The other characters were also incredible. I loved Holly’s relationship with her dad, Blake, the protective nature of Jack Dempsey and Preya Jilani.

Now, the plot. As I said, I didn’t know much about Hitchcock before reading this book but, after finishing it, I can say that the reader doesn’t need to know much about him to enjoy the book. Everything the author considers the reader needs to know is explained. This book made me feel curious about some of Hitchcock’s works, specially Frenzy.

This book has a brilliant story line. The plot is outstanding and there was suspense right until the end. I found myself reluctant to put the book down because I wanted to keep reading. It was fast paced and gory so, if that kind of thing bothers you, don’t read the book.

If you like mystery thrillers or are a fan of Alfred Hitchcock, you should try The Hitchcock Murders.

I see the potential for a sequel, that I’ll be eagerly waiting.

Rating: 5 stars

Leave a Reply

