review

The Shining REVIEW

12977531The Shining by Stephen King

Published January 28th 1977

Genre: Horror

Pages: 659

Source: Borrowed it from thatonenerdygirl

Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. But as the harsh winter weather sets in, the idyllic location feels ever more remote…and more sinister. And the only one to notice the strange and terrible forces gathering around the Overlook is Danny Torrance, a uniquely gifted five-year-old.

When Jack Torrence attacks one of his students during a painful attempt to keep sober, he’s fired from the school. Without a job, Jack accepts to be a winter caretaker and the Torrance family, Jack, Wendy and their five-year old son, Danny, moves to the Overlook Hotel. It seems to be the perfect opportunity to bond as a family and Jack can use the time to finally finish his play. But, as snow starts to fall, the hotel starts to come to life and the family realizes that their winter is not going to be as they expected.

First, I want to talk about the characters.. They were wonderfully developed, I was only a few pages in and already felt like I knew them and their struggles. Jack Torrance was a very troubled man, realistically written. Wendy was also na interesting character, reading about her always put me on edge because of how deeply she worried. Danny was a sweet child and I loved to read his perspective on what was going on. King completely captured what it is like to be a child.

The plot was addictive. I was completely hypnotised by the writing and saw myself picking up the book just to read a few pages.

I had high expectations for this novel. Everyone and their mother already read The Shining and I was excited to finally get to it myself. The book didn’t completely fulfill my expectations but it was still a brilliant novel to read.

I would have liked it more if I’d had more time to read it but it was still enjoyable.

So, if you’re planning on reading The Shining, make sure you have enough time to fully immerse yourself in the story

Rating: 4,5 stars

Check out thatonenerdygirl’s review here!

I also read Joyland and Lisey’s Story so check out my reviews:

Joyland REVIEW

Lisey’s Story REVIEW

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Shining REVIEW

Leave a comment